JABER called the king of Beaubourg "Sculpture"... - Lot 32 - Mytika Honfleur

Lot 32
Got to lot
Estimation :
300 - 400 EUR
JABER called the king of Beaubourg "Sculpture"... - Lot 32 - Mytika Honfleur

JABER called the king of Beaubourg "Sculpture" plaster, signed and dated on the work 2008, H26 cm Jaber El Mahjoub was born in 1938 in a family of shepherds from M'Saken in Tunisia. His childhood was perilous due to the death of his mother at the age of six. His sister educated him without financial means to give him access to school and the possibility of learning to read and write. At the dawn of 1958, he decided to move to Marseilles and work as a baker. Two years later, he set off for the French capital. Gifted with his hands and his voice, he made sculptures and at the same time composed, wrote and performed songs until he recorded two singles with Pathé Marconi. A wealthy American woman was attracted by his work, she took him to the United States, married him and propelled his career internationally.

Between two breaks, he carefully, passionately and rigorously composes three-dimensional works from papier-mâché, which are particularly singular, intriguing and striking. A true demiurge, he transposes his charcoal earth into the shape of a bird, fish or flower. His profession as a baker offers him this process that he applies in the field of art: he first uses his hands to give shape to a form and then bakes it into bread dough. He adds color to his artistic creations and a keen aesthetic sense.

Jaber El Mahjoub is exhibited in one of the most renowned galleries in San Francisco. The artist brings together all the lovers of "flower-power" art. He returned to Paris and exhibited at the American Center of Artists in 1977. He participated in many prestigious exhibitions with friends and collectors. His work is acquired by many museums dedicated to outsider art. A man of the shadows in the light, his market value soars. Among 800 candidates at the Plainfield Art Festival, the artist is crowned by the first prize of painting.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

JABER dit le roi de Beaubourg "Sculpture"... - Lot 32 - Mytika Honfleur

Lot 32
Aller au lot
Estimation :
300 - 400 EUR
JABER dit le roi de Beaubourg "Sculpture"... - Lot 32 - Mytika Honfleur

JABER dit le roi de Beaubourg "Sculpture" plâtre, signé et daté sur l'oeuvre 2008, H26 cm Jaber El Mahjoub naît en 1938 dans une famille de bergers de M’Saken en Tunisie. Son enfance s’avère périlleuse par le décès de sa mère à l’âge de six ans. Sa sœur l’éduque sans moyen financier pour lui donner accès à l’école et la possibilité d’apprendre à lire et écrire. A l’aube de l'année 1958, il décide d’emménager à Marseille et effectue le métier de boulanger. Deux ans plus tard, il prend la route pour la capitale française. Doué de ses mains et de sa voix, il façonne des sculptures et en parallèle compose, écrit et interprète des chansons jusqu’à enregistrer deux 45 tours chez Pathé Marconi. Une américaine fortunée est interpellée par son travail, elle le conduit aux Etats-Unis, l’épouse et propulse sa carrière à l’international.

Entre deux pauses, il compose avec soin, passion et rigueur, à partir de papiers mâchés des œuvres en trois dimensions particulièrement singulières, intrigantes et saisissantes. Véritable démiurge, il transpose sa terre au charbon de bois en forme d’oiseau, de poisson ou de fleur. Son métier de boulanger lui offre ce processus qu’il applique dans le champ de l’art : il use d’abord de ses mains pour donner corps à une forme et la faire cuire ensuite la pâte à pain. Il rajoute de la couleur à ses créations artistiques et un sens esthétique aigu.

Jaber El Mahjoub s’expose dans une galerie des plus réputées de San Francisco. L’artiste y fédère tous les amoureux de l’art « flower-power ». Il retourne à Paris et expose au American Center of Artists en 1977. Il participe à de nombreuses expositions prestigieuses auprès d’amis et collectionneurs. Son œuvre fait l’objet d’acquisitions dans de nombreux musées dédiés à l’art brut ou l’art outsider. Homme de l’ombre à la lumière, sa côte sur le marché s’envole. Parmi 800 candidats au Plainfield Art Festival, l’artiste est couronné par le premier prix de peinture.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue